GRIDCo was adjudged the best Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) Public Sector Company on Friday, 30th June 2023, at the La Palm Royal Beach Hotel. This was during the fourth (4th) Africa Energy and Sustainability Summit (AESS 2022-2023) and the maiden edition of the Think Energy SDGs Awards by African Global Response Energy Environment (AGREE LTD.), in partnership with the SDG Advisory Unit, Office of the President-Ghana.

In his welcome address, Mr. Humphrey K. Tetteh, CEO of AGREE Ltd., indicated that the awards would increase awareness of efforts made to at achieving the seven Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), including access to clean and affordable energy (SDG 7) in the West African sub-region. Acknowledging efforts made so far, he emphasized the need to transform training in energy education to ensure a successful transition to new and cleaner energy. According to him, AGREE Ltd. intends to partner with like-minded institutions across Africa, as the Company expands into targeted markets and United Nations (U.N.) member countries across Sub-Saharan Africa.

Ing. Jonathan Amoako-Baah, former Chief Executive of GRIDCo was presented with an SDG Lifetime Award, which was in recognition of his immense contribution towards the achievement of SDGs in the Energy Sector during his tenure.

The citation presented to GRIDCo recognised the Company for “…the crucial steps taken in the energy transitioning network and ensuring that power is kept stable in Ghana and neighbouring countries.

The Think Energy SDGs Awards is aimed at celebrating and honouring corporate and academic institutions, which are working together to achieve global leadership on SDGs 4,7,13,14 and 17. Additionally, the awards were to celebrate excellence, innovation and the impact of the respective individuals and organisations on clean energy; energy efficiency; energy access and the security sectors.

The delegation, who received the award on behalf of the Company were; Madam Florence Agyei, Director, Human Resource and Services; Ing. Mark Baah, Director, Southern Network Department; Mr. Samuel Kow Acquah, Acting Director, Office of the Chief Executive; Ing. Hussaini Adams, Manager, Network Maintenance, Southern Network Department; Mrs. Ama Benstiwa Haywood-Dadzie, Board Secretary; Wofa Kojo Kwarteng, Manager, Executive Office, and Mr. Francis Kwabena Adjartey, the Union Chairman.